Home / news / Andersen wins 2d Tour stage of 2020 as Bennett extends inexperienced jersey lead

Andersen wins 2d Tour stage of 2020 as Bennett extends inexperienced jersey lead

Sunweb dangle gained three phases in the 2020 Tour de France

Soren Kragh Andersen claimed his 2d clutch of the Tour de France with but another shrewd unhurried solo attack on stage 19.

Crew Sunweb’s Andersen, 26, attacked from a damage 16km out and powered to the motorway in Champagnole, 53 seconds sooner than Luka Mezgec in 2d.

Ireland’s Sam Bennett gained his duel with Peter Sagan and looks to be to be like map to take the inexperienced jersey, leading by 55 choices with two phases closing.

Primoz Roglic with ease retained his 57-2d lead in the yellow jersey.

The Slovenian will clutch his first Tour title could presumably perchance additionally quiet he live in the lead following Saturday’s mountain time trial, with tradition dictating the yellow jersey is no longer attacked on the closing, processional stage into Paris on Sunday.

Having gained stage 14 with a an analogous solo cross, Kragh Andersen is the fourth rider in this year’s Tour to grab two phases after Wout van Aert, Caleb Ewan and Tadej Pogacar, who remains 2d overall.

The Dane never looked encourage after kicking faraway from an elite 12-man team that integrated Bennett and Sagan, handiest letting up all the plot via the closing kilometre after screaming at a TV motorcycle for a time ascertain to originate sure his lead was once insurmountable.

“I in point of fact deserve to claim that, in the final kilometres, I was once screaming in pure disbelief,” he acknowledged.

“I’ve purchased two stage wins on the same Tour de France – it’s amazing. I’m speechless.

“I was once in the mix with one of the well-known crucial accurate riders of the arena for this plot of bustle and I basically did no longer know how to beat them as I was once on my restrict too.

“But then I realised that, if I managed in some formula to rating a small hole, it goes to additionally permit me to drag it off and that is the reason precisely what occurred. This is a memory I will carry in my mind for the remainder of my existence.”

It was once but another impressive tactical characterize by Sunweb, who dangle now gained three phases in this Tour.

After the breakaway was once caught at 35km to head, the German crew firstly save tried to withhold the bustle collectively for his or her sprinter Cees Bol by the employ of Kragh Andersen and Nikias Arndt to mark any attacks.

But once it turned sure the peloton would no longer preserve finish the lead team, they adjusted superbly, with Kragh Andersen catching out and utilizing faraway from graceful one-day riders similar to Greg van Avermaet, Oliver Naesen and Sagan.

The team could presumably perchance no longer rating organised in the encourage of and when Britain’s Luke Rowe launched a unhurried counter-attack, it was once already in ineffective, with the Ineos Grenadiers rider at final coming dwelling seventh.

Bennett looked impart material to mark listing, seven-time inexperienced jersey winner Sagan in its place of chasing his 2d stage clutch of the bustle.

The Deceuninck-Rapid-Step rider beat the Slovak at both the intermediate journey and at the attain so that it’s good to well add three choices to his lead in the choices classification.

There are a maximum of 90 choices on offer closing in the bustle, even though it will almost definitely be quite no longer going Sagan or Bennett will take any choices in Saturday’s time trial by ending in the terminate 15 on the stage.

That leaves 70 choices on the closing stage and despite the indisputable fact that Sagan dangle been to grab maximum choices, Bennett simply desires to amass 16 – the an analogous of ending fifth on the stage – to originate sure he turns into handiest the 2d Irishman after Sean Kelly to grab the inexperienced jersey.

Stage 19 consequence

1. Soren Kragh Andersen (Den/Crew Sunweb) 5hrs 36mins 33secs

2. Luka Mezgec (Slo/Mitchelton-Scott) +53secs

3. Jasper Stuyven (Bel/Dash-Segafredo) Identical time

4. Greg van Avermaet (Bel/CCC Crew)

5. Oliver Naesen (Bel/AG2R La Mondiale)

6. Nikias Arndt (Ger/Crew Sunweb)

7. Luke Rowe (GB/Ineos Grenadiers) +59secs

8. Sam Bennett (Ire/Deceuninck-Rapid-Step) +1min 02secs

9. Peter Sagan (Svk/Bora-Hansgrohe) Identical time

10. Matteo Trentin (Ita/CCC Crew)

Usual classification after stage 19

1. Primoz Roglic (Slo/Jumbo-Visma) 83hrs 29mins 41secs

2. Tadej Pogacar (Slo/UAE Crew Emirates) +57secs

3. Miguel Angel Lopez (Col/Astana) +1mins 27secs

4. Richie Porte (Aus/Dash-Segafredo) +3mins 06secs

5. Mikel Landa (Spa/Bahrain McLaren) +3mins 28secs

6. Enric Mas (Spa/Movistar) +4mins 19secs

7. Adam Yates (GB/Mitchelton-Scott) +5mins 55secs

8. Rigoberto Uran (Col/EF Pro Cycling) +6mins 05secs

9. Tom Dumoulin (Ned/Jumbo-Visma) +7mins 24secs

10. Alejandro Valverde (Spa/Movistar) +12mins 12secs

Be taught Extra

Leave a Reply