Home / news / Residency and other benefits … Qatar sets conditions and benefits for non-Qataris owning real estate

Residency and other benefits … Qatar sets conditions and benefits for non-Qataris owning real estate

Qatar has set conditions and controls for non-Qatari ownership of real estate in the country and their use, and it has also defined areas in which non-Qataris may own and benefit from real estate, in addition to the advantages and procedures for ownership and usufruct, in accordance with a decision issued by the Council of Ministers in this regard, within the framework of completing the package of procedures that It was taken by the State of Qatar to provide a legislative and legal environment conducive to investment.

Cabinet Resolution No. (28) of 2020 defined the areas in which non-Qataris may own and benefit from real estate, and the conditions, controls, benefits and procedures for their ownership and use of them, so that non-Qataris own real estate and use it in specific areas.

The number of areas for non-Qatari ownership of real estate is 9 areas, while the number of areas for non-Qataris to use real estate is 16 areas, bringing the total of areas that have been allocated to owning and using real estate for non-Qataris to 25.

New features

The Ministry of Justice stated in a statement today, Tuesday, that the decision introduced new advantages according to which Qatari and non-Qatari citizens may own a detached unit in one of the residential complexes, and they may also own the detached units (offices and shops) in commercial malls, in areas other than those stipulated. Provided that no modification or change is made to the nature, shape or outward appearance of the unit.

Dr. Issa bin Saad Al-Jafali Al-Nuaimi, Minister of Justice and Acting Minister of State for Cabinet Affairs, stressed the importance of this decision, which supports the government’s plans for economic diversification, and the establishment of an integrated legislative system to achieve the goals of Qatar National Vision 2030, in its various social and economic aspects.

He pointed out that these decisions will make a qualitative leap in the development of the real estate sector in the State of Qatar and enhance its investment attractiveness in the region, in a way that serves Qatar’s economy and enhances the attractive legislative and legal environment that stimulates investors and guarantees them safe and promising investment at the same time, which will benefit the local and foreign investor from On the one hand, the economy and the real estate sector in Qatar on the other hand.

25 regions

The Qatari minister explained that with the issuance of Cabinet Resolution No. (28) for the year 2020, we have 16 usufruct areas for a period of 99 years, and 9 freehold areas, and it has also become available to Qatari and non-Qatari citizens, residents and non-residents, the right to free ownership of residential units within the complexes. Residential and commercial stores within the malls, and real estate investment funds were allowed to invest in real estate in the various areas and units referred to.

This decision will provide an opportunity that was previously unavailable to middle and limited income citizens to invest in the real estate sector.

The areas that have been designated for ownership and usufruct are typical areas according to the latest global planning and urban specifications, and their planning and design systems have taken into account the latest international real estate specifications, making them meet the aspirations and aspirations of investors from different countries of the world.

These areas also provide promising opportunities and new advantages for Qatari citizens to invest in the real estate sector, whether through partnership and investment opportunities by buying and selling in the 25 areas covered by these decisions, or through local and foreign real estate investment funds that will be allocated to investors in the near future.

This decision will contribute to the advancement of the Qatari real estate market and the acceleration of economic development. It will also stimulate the movement of real estate transactions.

Granting of residency

The approval of the Council of Ministers recently included the addition of new categories, as the decision to allow previously was limited to individuals, and now non-Qatari companies are also allowed to own in the same areas specified in the decision of the Council of Ministers, based on the proposal of a committee to regulate non-Qatari ownership and use of real estate.

In conjunction with the decision issued by the Council of Ministers, the procedures for granting residency to real estate owners whose value is not less than 730,000 Qatari riyals (equivalent to $ 200,000) have been facilitated, so that the owner of the property from this category obtains a residence permit for himself and his family without a recruiter for the duration of his ownership of the property. .

The Ministries of Interior and Justice worked to develop an automated system that allows non-Qataris to obtain residency directly upon completion of the property ownership procedures.

The owner of the property whose value is not less than 3 million and 650 thousand riyals (one million dollars) will receive the benefits of permanent residence, which include health, education, and investment in some commercial activities.


Within the framework of the investment facilities that keep pace with the new legislation in Qatar regarding the ownership of real estate by non-Qataris, all services, sale and purchase procedures, extraction of bonds and concessions related to these real estate services will be provided through a single point of contact through the Ministry of Justice.

Usufruct areas

The areas of the right to usufruct the real estate sector for a period of 99 years are: Mushaireb, Fareej Abdul Aziz, New Doha, Al-Ghanem Al-Ateeq, Al-Riffa and Al-Hitmi Al-Ateeq, Islata, Fereej Bin Mahmoud 22, Fereej Bin Mahmoud 23, Rawdat Al Khail, Mansoura, Fareej Bin Dirham and Najma Umm Ghuwailina, Al Khalifat, Al Sadd, New Mirqab, Fareej Al Nasr, and the Doha International Airport area.

Ownership areas

As for the areas included in freehold ownership in this decision, they are the West Bay area (Legtaifiya), the Pearl District, Al Khor Resort, Al Dafna (Administrative District No. 60), Al Dafna (Administrative District No. 61), Onaiza (Administrative District), Lusail, Al Kharaij, and Mount Thailab. .

Ownership has also become available in malls and residential units in all regions of the country.

The ministerial decision opens promising prospects for investors to enter into strategic partnerships that will benefit the various groups of society, given the expected investment returns in these areas.

Source link

Leave a Reply