Home / news / Tadej Pogacar poised to place shut Tour de France

Tadej Pogacar poised to place shut Tour de France

Primoz Roglic used to be disconsolate after losing the yellow jersey on the penultimate stage

Tadej Pogacar is plan to place shut the Tour de France sooner than stable popular Primoz Roglic in one of the necessary dramatic turnarounds within the stride’s historical previous.

Pogacar, 21, will likely be confirmed as the youngest winner for 111 years at the pause of Sunday’s largely processional stage to Paris.

The UAE-Personnel Emirates rider overhauled a 57-second deficit to Roglic, who used to be in point of fact apt a a lot stronger rider on stage 20’s time trial to La Planche des Belles Filles.

This also will be a major Principal Tour victory for Slovenian Pogacar, who took the yellow jersey from compatriot Roglic after he had held it for 13 days.

Pogacar is now 59 seconds sooner than Roglic at the pause of a day of drama paying homage to the 1989 Tour, when Greg LeMond with out observe overhauled Laurent Fignon in a final-day time trial to place shut by eight seconds.

Richie Porte of Shuffle-Segafredo will likely be on the podium in Paris for the first time, taking third, three minutes and 30 seconds down.

Pogacar won the stage, one minute 21 seconds sooner than Roglic’s Jumbo-Visma crew-mate Tom Dumoulin. Porte climbed to third overall after finishing in third yell on the stage.

Britain’s Adam Yates of Mitchelton-Scott will raise out ninth within the total classification, 9mins 25secs within the relief of the winner.

Roglic regarded unbeatable all stride long

What came about to Roglic?

Roglic has regarded imperious for the length of the three-week stride attributable to toughen from his worthy crew, featuring a few of the sport’s ideal riders, including Dumoulin, Wout van Aert and Sepp Kuss.

The 36km stage from Entice to La Planche des Belles Filles used to be a involving path that completed, strangely for time trial, with a category 1 climb. Roglic, 30, used to be figuring out of as a a lot higher time triallist than Pogacar, and started the stage strongly.

Nevertheless Roglic hit ache at the changeover from huge-hastily specialist time-trial bikes to a more former road machine sooner than the climb, struggling to clip into his pedals, wobbling when being pushed away and for certain no longer seeming to search out his conventional rhythm.

Roglic, who claimed his first Principal Tour victory in a roundabout diagram year’s Vuelta a Espana, regarded desperate as he crossed the line, his helmet pushed upwards and a petite bit reduce-sided, luminous already he had lost the stride.

Desperation grew to change into to confusion and dejection as he sat on the bottom in his plump yellow skinsuit, making an attempt to hold how he had committed one of well-liked biking’s ideal chokes.

And as Pogacar sat down for his post-stride TV interview, Roglic interrupted it to comprise his countryman.

“I fair did no longer push ample,” stated Roglic. “It used to be like that. I used to be an increasing selection of with out the vitality I needed nevertheless I gave all of it till the pause.

“We will detect what happens next. I will also be contented with the racing we confirmed here so let’s take obvious things out of it.”

Pogacar won three phases on this year’s stride

From a a lot away second, Pogacar takes all of it

Roglic had been popular to place shut the 107th edition of biking’s most attention-grabbing stride, alongside defending champion Egan Bernal of Ineos Grenadiers.

On the opposite hand, Bernal abandoned the stride sooner than stage 17 following a disastrous climb up the Principal Colombier on stage 15, the place he cracked and lost more than seven minutes to Roglic.

It used to be one of the necessary ideal downturns in compose for a defending champion in most modern historical previous, and place an pause to Ineos’ narrative of winning each and every Tour since 2015, four of which had been as Personnel Sky.

Ineos regarded plan to non-public something to celebrate as they tried to seal the polka dot King of the Mountains jersey thru their second exact rider Richard Carapaz.

Nevertheless despite 2019 Giro d’Italia winner Carapaz’s attempts to intentionally plug a uninteresting first fragment sooner than blasting up the mountain, Pogacar’s tale performance eclipsed him and he took the jersey.

It is the second of three jerseys Pogacar will claim at this year’s stride – he’ll also favor up the young riders’ white jersey.

In total Pogacar picks up prize money of 500,000 euros (£458,270) for the yellow jersey, 25,000 euros (£22,900) for the King of the Mountains award, and an further 20,000 euros (£18,300) for being the right positioned young rider.

“I’m really delighted with the crew,” Pogacar stated. “They did such a huge effort. We had been dreaming of the yellow jersey from the commence. Unbelievable.

“It used to be no longer fair me this day, we wanted the general crew for the recon. I knew each and every corner and knew precisely the place to tempo up. Congrats to all my crew.

“I did no longer hear the leisure on the radio within the final five kilometres for the reason that followers had been too loud so I fair went plump gasoline.

“My dream used to be fair to be on the Tour de France and now I’ve won it. Or no longer it’s good.”

The same scenes: Fignon, like Roglic, is inconsolable on the line after losing the Tour in Paris in 1989

Frequent classification after stage 20

1. Tadej Pogacar (Slo/UAE Personnel Emirates) 84hrs 26mins 33secs

2. Primoz Roglic (Slo/Jumbo-Visma) +59secs

3. Richie Porte (Aus/Shuffle-Segafredo) +3mins 30secs

4. Mikel Landa (Spa/Bahrain McLaren) +5mins 58secs

5. Enric Mas (Spa/Movistar) +6mins 07secs

6. Miguel Angel Lopez (Col/Astana) +6mins 47secs

7. Tom Dumoulin (Ned/Jumbo-Visma) +7mins 48secs

8. Rigoberto Uran (Col/EF Reputable Biking) +8mins 02secs

9. Adam Yates (GB/Mitchelton-Scott) +9mins 25secs

10. Damiano Caruso (Ita/Bahrain McLaren) +14mins 03secs

Stage 20 consequence

1. Tadej Pogacar (Slo/UAE Personnel Emirates) 55mins 55secs

2. Tom Dumoulin (Ned/Jumbo-Visma) +1min 21secs

3. Richie Porte (Aus/Shuffle-Segafredo) Identical time

4. Wout van Aert (Bel/Jumbo Visma) +1min 31secs

5. Primoz Roglic (Slo/Jumbo-Visma) +1min 56secs

6. Remi Cavagna (Fra/Deceuninck-Mercurial-Step) +1min 59secs

7. Damiano Caruso (Ita/Bahrain McLaren) +2mins 29secs

8. David de la Cruz (Spa/UAE Personnel Emirates) +2mins 40secs

9. Enric Mas (Spa/Movistar) +2mins 45secs

10. Rigoberto Uran (Col/EF Reputable Biking) +2mins 54secs

Learn Extra

Leave a Reply